Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard, Shimron Hetmyer among ten West Indies players to pull out of Bangladesh tour

Source: Cricinfo

by SportsDiction – 31, December, 2020

West Indies Test captain Jason Holder, limited-overs captain Kieron Pollard, and Test vice-captain Roston Chase are among ten players who have pulled out of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh amid Covid-19 concerns. Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran are the other players who “declined the opportunity to tour due to Covid-19 related concerns or personal fears,” according to a CWI release.

Allrounder Fabian Allen and wicketkeeper-batsman Shane Dowrich were unavailable because of personal reasons.

In the absence of Holder, opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite will lead the Test side; he had also captained the Test team when they last toured Bangladesh in 2018. The ODI squad will be led by Jason Mohammed, who last played for West Indies in 2018.

According to the CWI Covid-19 policy, any player can opt out of an overseas tour over fears of safety, and the decision will not impact their future selections. Bravo and Hetmyer had also turned down call-ups for the England tour earlier this year because of concerns about their families.

In the absence of a number of first-choice players, the uncapped pair of Kavem Hodge and Shayne Moseley were included in the Test squad. Moseley, 26, has been on the fringes of Test selection, having toured the UK and then New Zealand as a reserve batsman. In his most recent match for West Indies A in Nelson earlier this month, Moseley scored 110 and 54 against a New Zealand A attack that contained internationals like Doug Bracewell, Jimmy Neesham and Scott Kuggeleijn.

Moseley’s Barbados team-mate Kyle Mayers, who made his T20I debut in New Zealand, also earned his maiden Test call-up. Mayers was the second-highest run-getter in the 2019-20 West Indies first-class competition, scoring 654 runs in 15 innings at an average of 50.30.

Hodge is the third left-arm fingerspin-bowling option in the squad behind Jomel Warrican and Veerasammy Permaul. Rahkeem Cornwall will provide another option with his offbreaks.

“He has been around for a few years and has made a case for himself and he now gets his chance,” chief selector Roger Harper said of Hodge. “The fact that he also bowls left-arm spin has certainly helped his cause. We also have Kyle Mayers and Shayne Moseley, who have both toured with the team to England and New Zealand as reserves, being selected in the Test squad for the first time.”

Senior fast bowler Kemar Roach, who missed the Wellington Test and returned home following the death of his father, was back to lead the red-ball attack along with Shannon Gabriel, who recently featured in his 50th Test.

The other Holder – Chemar – was missing from the Test squad after having impressed for West Indies A as well as the senior Test team in New Zealand. Chemar, though, was named in the ODI squad.

Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua da Silva, Alzarri Joseph and Mayers were the players who were picked in both the Test and ODI squads.

Test squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican

ODI squad: Jason Mohammed (capt), Sunil Ambris, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.