Bangabandhu T20 Cup: Fortune Barishal scrape through to playoffs despite Naim century

Source: Cricinfo

by SportsDiction – 12 , December, 2020

Fortune Barishal 193 for 3 (Hridoy 51, Saif 50, Afif 50) beat Beximco Dhaka 191 for 6 (Naim 105, Yasir 41, Sohrawordi 3-13) by 2 runs.

Fortune Barisal scraped through to the playoffs of the Bangabandhu T20 Cup with a two-run against Beximco Dhaka, who, to their credit, nearly toppled their 193-3 total if not for a late stumble. Dhaka opener Mohammad Naim struck his maiden T20 century, a thrilling 105 off 64 balls that included seven sixes and eight fours.

Sumon Khan’s six-run penultimate over, when 23 was needed off the final two overs, was what took Barishal to the top four. There was even an outside chance at one stage that Dhaka threatened to reach Barishal’s target within 18.3 overs, which would have put Minister Rajshahi through on net run-rate.

Naim and Yasir Ali added 110 runs for the fourth wicket after Sohrawordi Shuvo, the veteran left-arm spinner, took the first three wickets, conceding just 13 runs. Yasir struck two sixes and a four in his 28-ball 41, that was the perfect foil for the marauding Naim, who peppered the straight field at every opportunity.

But when Naim and Yasir fell in the 19th over, Akbar Ali and Muktar Ali had to take 17 off the last over. Both hit a six each, but Rabbi managed to keep them at bay, by the barest of margins.

Barishal’s 193-3 in 20 overs came through three half-centuries, from Saif Hassan, Towhid Hridoy and Afif Hossain. Saif’s 43-ball 50 included eight boundaries, mostly in the Powerplay, as he added 59 for the opening stand with Tamim Iqbal. From the 14th over, Hridoy and Afif took over, hammering a 91-run for the unbroken fourth wicket stand, including a whopping 78 in the last five overs.

Afif’s 50 came off 21 balls, and included five sixes and one four. Hridoy smacked four sixes and two fours in his 22-ball 51. Dhaka’s bowlers, especially Muktar Ali and Robiul Islam Robi went for a fair few, having bowled so well in most of the league phase matches.